First Murphy House is owned by the City of Carmel-by-the-Sea and maintained by the Carmel Heritage Society. Native plants with paths border the First Murphy House and benches surrounding the gardens are a relaxing place to stop and catch one’s breath. The First Murphy House was built in 1902 by 17-year old Michael Murphy, who went on to become one of Carmel’s greatest builders. Tours of the house are available. From the gardens visitors can enjoy a spectacular view of Carmel Bay. Public restrooms are located adjacent to the park.